More Kokomo Dispatch

I spent some time at our new downtown library looking at back issues of the Kokomo Dispatch and the Kokomo Tribune. I also came across microfilm on the Howard County News. I will have to research the details of the history of the HC News, but I did learn that it was published from December 11th, 1942 until it was buried by Thomson Newspapers, then owners of both the Kokomo Tribune and the HCN, on April 21st, 1983. I have intimate knowledge of goings on at the Howard County News from the early 1960’s until 1982 which I intend to share with you later.

I have already noted that the Kokomo Dispatch under the Poynter family ended independent publication on May 31st, 1930. It was purchased by John Arthur Kautz who at the time was also owner of the Kokomo Tribune. After May 31st, 1930, the Dispatch was never published as an independent daily newspaper. The name was carried on the Tribune masthead into the 1960’s, but was then dropped.

I intend to provide some community history, particularly concerning the Kokomo Tribune during the time it was owned by John Arthur Kautz and later by members of his family until being sold in 1981 to the Thomson Newspaper group. Don’t know how many folks with read this, but I will give it my best shot.

About Kent Blacklidge Ph.D.

As part of a newspaper family who owned a 34,000 daily newspaper in the heart of the Midwest, I have a passion for a strong “Fourth Estate”, the press. Without a diligent and assertive free press, the power would be taken from the people. People have the absolute right to know. After earning a degree in Industrial Management from the Krannert School of Management at Purdue, I spent over 20 years in newspaper management with several as publisher. I am also holder of three graduate science degrees including a Ph.D.. I have a passionate interest in science and the environment. I have little tolerance for ignorance and stupidity.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

